RSS for Education

http://www.google.com/reader/bundle/user%2F01200827289202691123%2Fbundle%2FTeachers%20Resource

When first asked to research RSS feeds, I honestly had no clue what an RSS Feed was.  I later found out that an RSS feed allows you to stay informed by retrieving the latest content from the websites you are interested in.  You subscribe to certain websites and with those you obtain all the up-to-date information that is going on.  You are the first to know about new changes in what you are researching.  You save time by not needing to visit each site individually.  Now that I have studied them, and learned about RSS feeds, I love them!  I researched Teaching Resources and found so much useful information that I can use in the classroom.

I would use the RSS feeds for my classroom by looking up Science articles and Math articles.  Because there is so much information on Science and Math, I would have the students subscribe to specific type of science..say life science.  Then I would have them go even farther with the search and have them look up a certain type of life science.  This would help drastically if researching for a report or project.

I do not know if my students would really understand how to use RSS or what it is all about.  I would have to guide my 7th and 8th graders through a lesson using RSS step by step.  After they complete the tutorial they should be fine on their own.  I feel that they would really appreciate RSS because it cuts back on the amount of research they have to do.  They still have to read the articles, but with RSS they put everything in a nice bundle for you!

ACET Standards:  3.1, 4.3, and 4.4

Leave a Reply

